Stranger Within

On that sunny day, when city temperature was climbing up to 40 degrees, Roshan was driving to his new client’s office hunting for business. A strong man like Roshan having a personality of a wrestler, never really thought that he’d be a sales guy who’d try and convince people to give his company new business instead of threating them to do so. 

He was speeding up to catch that meeting, however he couldn’t find strength to move irratic traffic or to change signal lights to green. Suddenly, he figured out a short diversion to bypass all the nonsense going on the road. It was an off-road drive towards nowhere but he trusted his navigation system. “In 200 meters turn left“, the system said and to his blind surprise he took that turn. After few meters ahead he saw a man waving for help, it seemed his car had broken down. “What poor luck!”, Roshan said it to himself and stopped to check with this stranger. 

“Excuse me! I’m really sorry but could you please help me locating a garage around to get a mechanic? I can help you with right path as well”, stranger said. Now Roshan had more headache to deal with but still he agreed saying, “Actually I’m running late but you can get along and see it for yourself on the way”. Stranger smiled and quickly got in the car. 

Roshan introduced himself and lit his cigarette after offering it to this stranger who declined it. Without introducing himself, stranger said, “So what do you do?”, “Well nothing much, selling, getting business, etc., what about you?”, Roshan passed the same question at him. “Well! Where to start from I’m part of your history”, stranger replied creating big question mark on Roshan’s face. “What I mean is, probably you never noticed me in your life, I do exactly what you do, I struggle for my life, I fear of losing my job, I fight to keep my family healthy and alive, I run around cursing everyone who tries to stop me, I pray, I relax over weekends, I hang out with friends, I hate getting up on Monday, I still wait for my payday, I fall in love with someone, yet I look for being a boss of relationship, I try and be a good man to help needy”, till the time stranger was saying this, Roshan was in complete horror. He felt like he just crashed his car somewhere the way he suddenly stopped. 

“What kind of joke is this? Have you been following me?, say something or I’ll kill you right here”, Roshan was furious now. “Hold on, I’ll tell you from beginning”, stranger said calmly. “I’m just a passerby, I see you everyday without getting into your notice, I hear your conversations, I see you angry, yelling, sometimes happy, sometimes crazily drunk, my job is to follow random people, make them realize what they are missing, so my friend, that was not my car from where you picked me up. I saw you taking a wrong turn out of desperation and stood there to show you a way out. But important thing is, you should realize there is every hour you’ll keep on running around fighting to achieve something, however you should try and live for yourself. You have your own follower within you don’t miss him out else you have people like me to drop off.”, after saying this stranger stepped out of the car and walked away making Roshan stunned and glued to steering. 

After such surprising incident, Roshan just smiled and continued to follow navigation system which sounded, “In 400meters your destination will be on your left hand side.” But this time, he did not stop at his destination and just drove ahead. 

Leave a comment